Christmas tourney seeds selected

Monday, December 11, 2006

Charleston, which won the SEMO Conference Tournament earlier in the weekend, was awarded the top seed Sunday in the 62nd annual Southeast Missourian Christmas Tournament that begins on Dec. 26.

The Bluejays, who ran their record to 6-0 with a victory over Sikeston in the conference final, have won the Christmas Tournament 14 times.

Defending champion Notre Dame is the second seed, followed by last year's runner-up Jackson.

The rest of the field by seed: Scott County Central, Bell City, Advance, Scott City, Cape Girardeau Central, Oran, Kelly, Leopold, Meadow Heights, Chaffee, Wooodland, Delta and Oak Ridge.

The championship game of the tournament will be played Dec. 30.

-- Southeast Missourian

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: