Sikeston boys grab top seed in tourney

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Seeds for the inaugural SEMO Conference basketball tournament are out with few surprises for the early December tournament.

Sikeston earned the top seed following a runner-up finish in Class 4 last year, and Charleston is seeded second following its runner-up finish in Class 3. The tournament will begin Dec. 4 at Sikeston, where it currently is scheduled to take place annually.

Notre Dame is seeded third, followed by Jackson, Poplar Bluff and Central. The top six seeds are assured a spot in the eight-team bracket.

The remaining four teams will have to survive play-in games to decide who fills out the bracket. Dexter will face Caruthersville at 5:30 p.m. on Dec. 4, and New Madrid County Central will play Kennett in the other play-in at 7 p.m.

A first-round game also will be played that night, with Jackson and Poplar Bluff meeting at 8:30 p.m.

Central and Notre Dame will play 8:30 p.m. Dec. 5.

The consolation semifinals will be Dec. 6, the semifinals will be Dec. 7, and the championship is 8:30 p.m. Dec. 8.

All-SEMO South football

Scott City's football team finished above .500 for the second time in three years and managed to place seven players on the all-SEMO South first team.

Junior quarterback Ethan Watkins, senior receiver Jamie Pinkston, senior offensive lineman Curtis Hall, senior defensive lineman Mike Bryant, junior linebacker Cody Carlyle and junior defensive back Blake Dirnberger all made the first team for the Rams (6-4).

The Rams finished 3-2 in conference play. Malden finished undefeated at 5-0 to win the conference. The Green Wave led the all-conference team with nine first-team members.

Chaffee (3-7) placed two players on the first team. Junior offensive lineman Walker Rice and junior linebacker Dylan McAllister represented the Red Devils.

All-MAFC Blue Division

St. Vincent used a late surge to make it all the way to the Class 1 quarterfinals in football, but a 3-2 record in the MAFC Blue Division resulted in just five first team selections on the all-conference team.

Junior offensive lineman Quentin Robinson, senior tight end Greg Rellegert, senior defensive lineman Chris Fischer, junior defensive lineman Zach Fischer and senior kicker Lucas Robinson were all first-team selections from the Indians.

All-SEMO volleyball

Scott City led the way with three first-team members on the recently released all-SEMO Conference volleyball team.

The Rams defeated Central for the conference crown and went on to make the Class 2 quarterfinals. Seniors Jenni Heisserer and Kacie Ritter and freshman Brooke Simpson made the first team for Scott City.

Central sophomore Wendi Zickfield made the first team for the Tigers.

Brittany Licare (Scott City), Mandi Wood (Oran) and Kristin Shirrell (Central) all made the second team.

All-JeffCo volleyball

St. Vincent junior Kelsey Cissell earned first-team all-conference honors in the Jefferson County Conference for the district-champion Squaws.

Cissell was joined on the first team by Brooke Brown. Cissell and Courtney Besand were also named first-team all-district.

Lacey Siegmund, Brooke Hayden and Sara Moll made second-team all-conference. Siegmund and Brown were second-team all-district.

Also from St. Vincent, Elizabeth Rozier made second-team all-Jefferson County Conference in softball.

All-Stoddard Co. volleyball

Bell City junior Rachel Spears claimed the player of the year honors in the Stoddard County Activities Association in volleyball.

Spears was one of three Cubs to make the first team from the conference champion Cubs. Bell City made its second straight trip to the Class 1 final four and finished fourth. Sophomore setter Codie Lancaster and junior Jessica Abner also made the first team from Bell City.

Cubs coach Erin Hoffman was the coach of the year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: