Faces of 2morrow 8/19

Tuesday, August 19, 2003

Brown accepted to gifted program at MBC

Laura Brown of Cape Girardeau has been accepted to the Program for the Exceptionally Gifted at Mary Baldwin College in Staunton, Va.

Brown is the daughter of Kathy and Rick Brown. PEG is a residential program offering young women the opportunity to begin college years earlier than normal.

Scherer receives scholarship at UMC

Amber Renee Scherer has been awarded the Mary D. Rootes Scholarship for $1,000 from the Golden Key Scholarship Fund.

Scherer is a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma from Benton, Mo., and is majoring in food science at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Area students named to SMSU dean's list

Tia Meyer and Lauren Hirschburg of Cape Girardeau and Bradley Mirly of Jackson have been named to the summer 2003 dean's list at Southwest Missouri State University in Springfield, Mo.

Ford wins national award in science

Cody Ford of Oak Ridge has been named a United States National Awards Winner in Science.

Ford is a student at Oak Ridge High School and has received this award twice. He is the son of Kim and Gary Ford of Oak Ridge, and the grandson of Joyce and Alfred Kirn of Jackson and Estelle and George Ford of Perryville, Mo.

UMR names Buchheit outstanding senior

Andrew Allen Buchheit has been awarded the outstanding senior of the ceramic department at the University of Missouri-Rolla.

Buchheit was selected as the student representative to the education and outreach committee and the college coordination sub-committee for the National American Ceramics Society.

He is a 1999 graduate of Notre Dame Regional High School and is the son of Allen and Jeanette Buchheit of Cape Girardeau.

Jackson students attend leadership meeting

Local students recently attended the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America national leadership meeting in Philadelphia.

Leann Walther and Rachel Kluesner, seniors at Jackson High School, and Candy Oliphant, a Jackson sophomore, won a gold rating in the chapter showcase contest at the meeting.

SEMO students receive $500 scholarships

The Whitewater OES and Whitewater Masonic Lodge have awarded the Mary Maud and Norvell Hosea Scholarship to Delta 2003 graduate Andrea Dohogne and past Delta graduate Rhonda Lancaster-Parker.

Both are enrolled at Southeast Missouri State University and will receive $500 each from the scholarship.

Boston to be finalist in scholarship program

Kaylee Boston of McClure, Ill., has been selected as a finalist in the preteen Illinois scholarship and recognition program.

Boston will be among girls ages 7 to 12 to participate in the competition finals Aug. 22-24 in Springfield, Ill., for $5,000 in educational bonds and prizes.

Boston is the daughter of Kevin and Sandy Boston of McClure. She is sponsored by Bestweld Mobile, Heartland Telephone, Shirley Otis and Scott Tucker.

Metro college named honor roll institution

Metro Business College in Cape Girardeau has been named an honor roll institution by the Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: