County Democrats, Republicans elect committee leaders

Thursday, August 17, 2006

Cape Girardeau County's two major political parties elected new leaders Tuesday evening.

Educator Brenda Woemmel of Cape Girardeau was elected chairwoman of the Democratic Central Committee, replacing photographer Tom Neumeyer. John Voss, a Cape Girardeau city councilman and manager at Procter & Gamble, was elected chairman of the Republican Central Committee, replacing Leonard "Fritz" Sander of Jackson.

The elections took place in organizational meetings mandated by state law. Members of the committees are elected during party primaries. In each party, there was an almost complete turnover of top party officials.

Along with Woemmel, Democrats elected Chuck Miller of Cape Girardeau, a former assistant state treasurer, as vice chairman, Rick Althaus of Cape Girardeau, a political science professor at Southeast Missouri State University, as treasurer and Linda Sanders of Jackson as secretary. Althaus is the only officer re-elected to a new two-year term.

Among Republicans, county collector Diane Diebold of Jackson was elected vice chairwoman, Lisa Reitzel was elected secretary, educator Eugene "Pete" Frazier of Cape Girardeau was elected treasurer and Holly Lintner, a manager at United Way of Southeast Missouri, was named assistant treasurer. Lintner is the only holdover from past officers among Republicans.

Each party leader serves until replaced by the committee or for two years, whichever comes first.

335-6611, extension 126

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: