Learning briefs 5/9/06

Tuesday, May 9, 2006

Local students earn scholarships

* Southeast Missouri State University awarded scholarships to the following students:

Regina Baker of Oran, Mo., received the Dr. John Hinni endowed scholarship.

Amanda Otte of Cape Girardeau and Jeanie Mahasongkham of Marble Hill, Mo., received Katherine Cochran endowed scholarships.

Sara Lappe of Perryville, Mo., received the Emma E. Dempster endowed scholarship.

Sarah Long of Cape Girardeau received the Walter Davidson endowed scholarship.

Christina Gonzales of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Rev. P.A. and Ella Mae Kasey endowed scholarship.

Christina Bruenderman of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Joan Amlingmeyer Gohn endowed scholarship.

Willie Brown IV of Jackson was awarded the Michael S. Nabors restricted scholarship.

Chad McCormick of Kelso, Mo., was awarded the Cape Girardeau County Area Medical Society Alliance endowed scholarship.

Lucas Presson of Cape Girardeau was awarded the S. David Nunley endowed scholarship.

Autumn Stevens of Jackson was awarded the Janet Paar Greene endowed scholarship.

Kelly Ressel of Chaffee, Mo., was awarded the Jean Carolyn Garrett Dickey endowed scholarship.

Amy Bickings of Cape Girardeau was awarded The Rev. A.B. Cooper endowed scholarship.

Stephanie Huffman of Cape Girardeau received the Stephen L. Harris Athletic Scholarship.

* Other scholarship recipients included:

Geoffrey Enders, a Jackson High School student, has received a Horatio Alger Missouri Scholar scholarship.

Kaitlyn Scheeter of Notre Dame Regional High School, daughter of Vaughn and Toni Scheeter, has received the following scholarships: Maryville Achievement Award, Gallagher, Maryville Grant, Southeast Missouri President's Scholarship and Missouri Leadership Award.

Jacob Wengert of Notre Dame Regional High School in Cape Girardeau, son of Alan and Kim Wengert, has received the Maryville University Achievement Award and the Kiwanis Club Scholarship.

Bira chosen for fine arts academy

Notre Dame Regional High School student Claire Bira has been chosen to participate in the Missouri Fine Arts Academy at Missouri State University in Springfield, Mo., this summer. The academy is scheduled from June 11 to July 1.

Schlosser presented student award

Christine Schlosser of Cape Girardeau received the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award at Truman State University in Kirksville, Mo.

Students earn vocal awards

Bethany Miget from Jackson and Madison Rau of Cape Girardeau tied for first place among vocal soloists in the junior division of the Mid-South Fair Sanctioned Competition held at Christ Church of the Heartland in Cape Girardeau. Lindsey Grojean from New Hamburg, Mo., took third place. Tyler Schwettman of Scott City took fourth and Amy Blattel of Chaffee, Mo., took fifth place.

In the senior division, Autumn Vandeven of Chaffee took first in the vocal soloist competition and will compete in the Mid-South Fair at Memphis, Tenn., in September. Jamie Maschmeier of Jackson. Stephen Schott of New Hamburg took third. Carly Schneider of Chaffee was fourth and Jessica Dock of New Hamburg took fifth place.

Besides Vandeven, contestants selected to be part of the Memphis fair include Maschmeier and Bailey Duncan, both of Jackson; Schott and Dock of New Hamburg, Kiersten Petitt and Hayley Compass of Scott City, Ginny Hahn of Chaffee and Brittany Graham of Cape Girardeau.

Extra Credit

The University Extension Council in Cape Girardeau County is taking applications for a $200 college scholarship. Applicants must be enrolled in a four-year degree program in agriculture, human environmental sciences, youth development or business. Applications are due to the Extension office in Jackson by June 19. For more information, call 243-3581. The scholarship is for $200.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: