Learning briefs 4/25/06

Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Local students attend Women's Club event

Jenny Huo, a student at Central High School; Andrea Schreiner, a student at Oak Ridge High School; Whitney Tankersley, a student at Jackson High School; and Staci Floyd, a student at Saxony Lutheran High School, attended the General Federation of Women's Clubs pilgrimage to Jefferson City. The event recognizes high school sophomores who exemplify high standards of honor, courage, citizenship, scholarship, leadership and service. The GFWC Scope Club of Missouri in Cape Girardeau sponsored the four area students.

Soemo outstanding in chemistry at Truman

Angela Soemo of Jackson was named the outstanding undergraduate student in chemistry at Truman State University in Kirksville. She is the daughter of Wayne and Barbara Soemo of Jackson.


* Southeast Missouri State University awarded scholarships to the following students:

Deanne Ackley of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Jeanine Larson Dobbins Endowed Scholarship and the A.C.E. Louise M. Gross Endowed Scholarship.

Heather West of Jackson was awarded the Cape County Friends of Law Enforcement Endowed Scholarhip.

Justin Fuller of Advance, Mo., Christopher Poston and Jonathan Poston, both of Cape Girardeau, were awarded German Language endowed scholarships.

Jessica Stoverink of Marble Hill, Mo., and Derrington Gonzales of Cape Girardeau were awarded the Luke F. and Edna C. Kinder Endowed Scholarship.

April Hemmann of Oak Ridge was awarded the R. Melvin Gateley Scholarship.

Rachel Ives of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Frances and Cornelius Crowley Spanish Club Scholarship.

Erica Yarbro Keller of Jackson was awarded the Albert H. and Dorothy E. Macke Endowed Scholarship.

Kelly Howard of Cape Girardeau was awarded the O.L. Wilcox Memorial Scholarship.

Sarah Meyers of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Mildred and Nell Holcomb Endowed Scholarship.

-- From staff reports

Regina Baker of Oran, Mo., received the Dr. John Hinni Endowed Scholarship.

Amanda Otte of Cape Girardeau and Jeanie Mahasongkham of Marble Hill, Mo., received Katherine Cochran endowed scholarships.

Sara Lappe of Perryville, Mo., received the Emma E. Dempster Endowed Scholarship.

Sarah Long of Cape Girardeau received the Walter Davidson Endowed Scholarship.

Christina Gonzales of Cape Girardeau was awarded The Rev. P.A. and Ella Mae Kasey Endowed Scholarship.

Christina Bruenderman of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Joan Amlingmeyer Gohn Endowed Scholarship.

Willie Brown IV of Jackson was awarded the Michael S. Nabors Restricted Scholarship.

Brenda Kelch of Cape Girardeau was awarded the Thelma and Paul H. Sturgeon Endowed Scholarship.

Extra Credit

Tina Wright, administrative assistant at Franklin Elementary School, was recognized for her role with Practical Parenting Partnerships at the Practical Parenting Partnerships Family Festival at Osage Beach, Mo., in March. School officials said she used her creativity to facilitate family movie nights, multicultural nights and love-of-reading nights. Last year, as parent liasion, she made over 50 home visits and provided community resources assistance to over 25 families.

Dr. John Kraemer, assistant professor of the environmental science program at Southeast Missouri State University, has been named recipient of the 2005-2006 Distinguished Alumni Award by Indiana State University's College of Health and Human Performance.

Local students receive scholarships

* Kiwanis Club of Cape Girardeau awarded $1,000 scholarships to 29 high school seniors:

Ashley Ducharme, Jami Dement, Austin Johnson, Corrie Gerecke, Carson Kelley III, Tyler LeGrand, Danielle Gross, Madison Lowrance, Jared Thomas, Erica Ruopp, Rachel Hendrickson, Candice Hoffman and Molly Horrell, all of Cape Girardeau; Raymond Glaus and Myka Dockins of Sikeston, Regina Bullinger, Kelsey Koehler, Andrew Bertrand and Jacob Wengert, all of Jackson; Lauren Dirnberger and Lucas Dirnberger, both of Oran, Mo.; William Pecord of Thebes, Ill.; David Welker of Gordonville; Jacob Hayden and Joshua Hayden, both of Perryville, Mo.; Eden Ellison of Tamms, Ill.; Katelyn Vance of Scott City; Clare Janet of Raytown, Mo.; and Ward Davis of Caruthersville, Mo.

Ducharme, Glaus, Bullinger, Lauren and Lucas Dirnberger, Pecord, Gerecke, LeGrand, Bertrand, Dockins, Wengert, Ellison, Ruopp, Hendrickson, Vance, Hoffman and Horrell attend Notre Dame Regional High School.

Dement, Johnson, Kelley, Gross, Lowrance and Thomas attend Cape Girardeau Central High School.

Welker and Koehler attend Jackson High School.

Jacob and Joshua Hayden attend Perryville High School.

Janet attends Archbishop O'Hara High School.

Ward attends Caruthersville High School.

* Angelina Guidos, a senior at Cape Giradeau Central High School, has been awarded a $100 scholarship by the Zonta Club.

Morgan, Miller chosen for skills challenge

Robert Morgan and David Miller, students at the Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center, are among 20 students that will compete in the Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills National Quality Care Challenge in the state of Missouri. The contest will feature two-person teams from 10 high school automotive programs. It will be held May 4 at the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City. Winners at the state contest will go on to compete in the national contest.

UMR mucking teams receive Aussie honors

Men's and women's "mucking" teams from the University of Missouri-Rolla finished second in the Intercollegiate Mining Competition held April 15 and 16 in Australia. Students competed in timed events such as gold panning, surveying, hand mucking, sawing and drilling. The debris left over from a mining blast is known as a muck pile. Members of the women's team included graduate student Shannon Lusk of Jackson. The men's team included Chris Barks, a senior from Gordonville. A second men's team, which finished seventh, included Matt Angle, a senior from Sedgewickville, Mo.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: