Bond issue for water system in Cape County passes

Wednesday, April 5, 2006

Residents in Cape Girardeau County Water Supply District No. 5 voted Tuesday to issue waterworks revenue bonds in an amount up to $450,000 to acquire, construct and improve the water distribution system.

The bond issue passed with 127 votes in favor to 34 votes opposing the issue.

The vote on the bonds was one of a number of elections inside Cape Girardeau County.

Delta residents elected Carol Collins to a two-year term as mayor. Collins won the election with 57 votes to 37 votes for Dennis L. Bowers.

Incumbent Beverly Kay Keesee was elected to a two-year term as city collector in Delta.

In the race for three Delta Board of Aldermen seats, Gary Diggs was elected in Ward 1. No one filed for the other two aldermen positions in Delta, but some candidates received write-in votes. Those results won't be released until today.

Voters elected Don England and Fran England to three-year terms on the Oak Ridge Town Board.

Donald L. Cook of Allenville ran unopposed for a two-year term to the board of trustees.

No one filed for three vacant positions on the Gordonville Board of Trustees. The Cape Girardeau county clerk's office reported 55 write-in votes were cast Tuesday. Results will be released later today.

Twelve votes were cast in the election for the Pocahontas Town Board. Mark S. Kasten, Richard B. Winter, Wilbert Reisenbichler, Bill Humphrey and Ray Powell were elected to two-year terms.

The village of Dutchtown elected H.W. "Bud" Obermann and Robert L. Moss to the board of trustees.

In Old Appleton, Kevin J. Amschler, Christopher J. Hurst, Melissa J. Hurst and Richard M. Leimer were elected to two-year terms on the town board.

Whitewater residents elected Michelle Canon, David Coomer and Jonathan Stidham to two-year terms on the board of trustees.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: