Nine Missouri counties declared disaster in wake of storms

Monday, March 20, 2006

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Nine Missouri counties have been declared federal disaster areas in the wake of last week's storms, which killed nine people.

The disaster declaration makes federal funding available to residents in the counties of Christian, Hickory, Johnson, Monroe, Perry, Pettis, Randolph, Ste. Genevieve and Saline, said R. David Paulison, acting director of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency.

State and federal crews have found about 1,500 damaged or destroyed homes as a result of the storms that tore through Missouri last week. The storms produced dozens of tornadoes across the state, killing nine people and injuring about 100.

Damage surveys were continuing in other areas.

, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are completed. ---

On the web

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: