Witherspoon, Hoffman, 'Crash' lead SAG honors

Monday, January 30, 2006

LOS ANGELES -- Reese Witherspoon as singer June Carter in "Walk the Line" and Philip Seymour Hoffman as author Truman Capote in "Capote" won lead-acting awards Sunday from the Screen Actors Guild, while the ensemble drama "Crash" pulled off an upset win over Brokeback Mountain" for the overall cast award.

Sean Hayes won for best actor in a TV comedy for his role as a gay man in "Will & Grace."

Felicity Huffman won the guild prize for best actress in a TV comedy for "Desperate Housewives," which also won for best comedy ensemble.

The best-actress honor for a television drama series went to Sandra Oh for the medical drama "Grey's Anatomy." Kiefer Sutherland won as best actor in a TV drama for the action series "24," while the airplane-disaster show "Lost" won for TV dramatic ensemble.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: