Texas' Young, USC's Bush headline award winners

Friday, December 9, 2005

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Texas quarterback Vince Young and Southern California tailback Reggie Bush each took home two awards Thursday night, one as best player in the nation and one for being the best at his position, as college football honored its stars.

Young won the Maxwell Award as the nation's top player and the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback.

Bush came away with the Walter Camp player of the year award and the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's best running back.

Young and Bush will be in New York on Saturday night as finalists for the Heisman Trophy. USC quarterback Matt Leinart is the other Heisman finalist.

Young beat out Bush and Leinart for the Maxwell, and Leinart and Notre Dame's Brady Quinn for the O'Brien. Young was the first Texas quarterback to win the award.

The Texas junior leads the nation in passing efficiency with a 168.6 rating. He has passed for 2,769 yards and 26 touchdowns, and leads the Longhorns in rushing with 850 yards.

Bush joined former Trojans O.J. Simpson (1967 and 1968), Charles White (1979), Marcus Allen (1981) and teammate Leinart (2004) as Camp winners.

Penn State linebacker Paul Posluszny won the Chuck Bednarik Trophy, given to the best defensive player in the country. The other finalists were Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk and Maryland linebackers D'Qwell Jackson.

Posluszny led a resurgence at Penn State. The Nittany Lions (10-1) won the Big Ten and will play in the Orange Bowl after winning just seven games the previous two seasons.

Penn State coach Joe Paterno, 78, won the Home Depot coach of the year award, for turning around the Nittany Lions after four losing seasons in the last five years.

Texas safety Michael Huff won the Thorpe Award as the best defensive back in the country, becoming the first Longhorns player to do so.

Mike Hass, the NCAA's leader in receiving yards (139.3 per game), beat out Dwayne Jarrett of Southern California and Jeff Samardzija of Notre Dame for the Fred Biletnikoff Award as the nation's best wideout.

Minnesota center Greg Eslinger won the Outland Trophy as the country's best lineman, Oregon State's Alexis Serna took the Groza Award as the nation's top kicker. Wake Forest punter Ryan Plackemeier was the Ray Award winner.

The Disney Wide World of Sports Spirit Award went to the Tulane team, which was forced off its campus by Hurricane Katrina and played 11 games in 11 stadiums this season.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: