Players from 1980s dominate all-time Busch Stadium team

Sunday, October 2, 2005

McGwire was beaten by Pujols in the fan voting for first baseman.

ST. LOUIS -- A 70-homer season wasn't enough to land Mark McGwire on the All-Time Busch Stadium Team.

But three current players -- Albert Pujols, Jim Edmonds and Scott Rolen -- made the cut.

The Cardinals announced the team Saturday, before the next-to-last regular-season game at the 39-year-old ballpark.

The Cardinals move into the new Busch Stadium next season.

Fans selected players at each position, including a starting pitcher and reliever, plus a utility player and a manager.

Perhaps the toughest choice was at first base, where finalists in addition to Pujols and McGwire were Keith Hernandez, 1979 co-MVP; Jack Clark, the lone power hitter on Whitey Herzog's speedy teams of the 1980s; and Orlando Cepeda, who led the Cardinals to two pennants and the 1967 title.

As if to prove fans right, Pujols hit his 41st homer of the season, a two-run shot, in the first inning Saturday.

Herzog, who led the Cardinals to the 1982 World Series title and National League pennants in 1985 and 1987, beat out Tony La Russa, Red Schoendienst and Joe Torre as manager.

Several of Herzog's players were also recognized: utilityman Jose Oquendo, second baseman Tommy Herr, reliever Bruce Sutter and shortstop Ozzie Smith, who recalled how the Cardinals used their rock-hard, heat-holding artificial turf -- long since replaced by natural grass -- to their advantage.

"Teams hated coming in here playing on those hot summer days," said Smith, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2004. "Willie McGee, Vince Coleman, Tommy [Herr], Whitey managing us -- it was a great time."

In addition to Pujols, current Cardinals recognized were Rolen at third base and Edmonds in centerfield.

Outfielders Lou Brock and Roger Maris and pitcher Bob Gibson, all part of the 1967 champion and 1968 pennant-winner, were selected.

The lone selection from the downtrodden 1970s, when the Cardinals failed to reach the postseason, was catcher Ted Simmons.

"Very special place, very special people," Simmons said.

The All-Busch Stadium team

The following are members of the All-Time Busch Stadium Team, selected by Cardinals fans.

Manager: Whitey Herzog.

Utility player: Jose Oquendo.

First base: Albert Pujols.

Second base: Tommy Herr.

Shortstop: Ozzie Smith.

Third base: Scott Rolen.

Left field: Lou Brock.

Center field: Jim Edmonds.

Right field: Roger Maris.

Catcher: Ted Simmons.

Starting pitcher: Bob Gibson.

Relief pitcher: Bruce Sutter.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: