Area sports digest 8/30/05

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

Long wins women's club

title at Kimbeland

Vicki Long won the Kimbeland Country Club's Ladies Club Championship over the weekend, edging out Barb Johnson by a stroke.

Long took a two-stroke lead over Johnson and Margaret Sanders into the second round after an opening 76. Long shot a 78 on the second day to win title with a 154 total. Johnson shot 77 in the second round and finished at 155, while Sanders carded an 85 to finish in a three-way tie for third with Lillian Schneider and Debbie Phillips, nine shots behind Long.

Other flight winners were Sissy Burnett (A), Kay Marshall (B) and Carol Weinrich (C).

Kimbeland Ladies Club Championship

at Kimbeland Country Club

Championship: 1. Vicki Long 76-78--154; 2. Barb Johnson 78-77--155; 3 (tie). Margaret Sanders 78-85--163, Lillian Schneider 86-77--163, Debbie Phillips 81-82--163

A flight: 1. Sissy Burnett 80-84--164; 2. Elaine Hayden 86-82--168; 3. Sharon McCune 85-86--171; 4. Dixie Jones 84-90--174

B flight: 1. Kay Marshall 88-88--176; 2. Terri Mouser 91-87--178; 3. Sue Zoll 90-89--179; 4. Jackie Anderson 95-91--186

C flight: 1. Carol Weinrich 95-93--188; 2. Diane Thorne 103-105--208; 3 (tie). Mary Rose James 112-98--210, Shelly Bohn 105-105--210

Friends of St. Francis

tourney crowns winners

The Friends of St. Francis four-person scramble golf tournament took place Friday at Bent Creek golf course in Jackson.

Marilyn Curtis, Hervey Lavoie, Mark Miller and Sachie Lavoie topped the championshp flight in the morning group, while Dan O'Neil, Jim Riley, Brad Smith and Bruce Smith took first in the A flight. In the B flight, Scott Higgins, Marlene Lyon, Philip Tippin and Sam Woods placed first.

In the P.M. group, David Cantrell, Chris Janet, Mark Kohlfeld and Rick Wieser claimed the championship flight. Steve Logel, Dennis Riney, Andrew Stritzel and Jeff Thieret took first in the A flight, and Kohta Fujiwara, Bill Hinckley, Terumi Okada and Brad Wilson finished first in the B flight.

Friends of St. Francis Golf Tournament

at Bent Creek Golf Course


Championship flight -- 1. Marilyn Curtis, Hervey Lavoie, Mark Miller, Sachie Lavoie; 2. Dave Hall, Bill Holten, Scott Lichvar, Chris McCormick; 3. Marvin Adams, Jr., Marvin Adams, Sr., Norman Glaus, Chris Marchi

A flight -- 1. Dan O'Neil, Jim Riley, Brad Smith, Bruce Smith; 2. T. Robin Cole III, Clay Crosson, Joel Neikirk, Dan Zembsch; 3. Rock Finch, Mike Grunlow, David Scala, Steve Green

B flight -- 1. Scott Higgins, Marlene Lyon, Philip Tippin, Sam Woods; 2. Jim Isselhardt, Sherman Pochek, Mark Unger, Shawn Welsch; 3. Chris Bowen, Jim Lawson, Drake Seabaugh, Aaron Seabaugh

Skins -- Dan Atkinson, Dave Christante, Joe McLemore, Scott Schuemann


Championship flight -- 1. David Cantrell, Chris Janet, Mark Kohlfeld, Rick Wieser; 2. Scott Higgins, Knute Shultz, Bill Tegel, Richie Thorngmorton; 3. Jeffrey Appleton, Matt Hollis, Ben Eller, Mark Morrill

A flight -- Steve Logel, Dennis Riney, Andrew Stritzel, Jeff Thieret; 2. Phil Cantoni, Tom Durfee, Fred Vangennip, Mark Stapleton; 3. Barbara Thompson, Mark Thompson, Ann Uhls, Mike Uhls

B flight -- 1. Kohta Fujiwara, Bill Hinckley, Terumi Okada, Brad Wilson; 2. Jeff Bush, Talley Chism, Ronnie Kinder, Bill Sellers; 3. Dave Davis, Don Henley, Sheryl Henley, Randall Shively

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: