Blunt seeks federal help for drought

Tuesday, August 9, 2005

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Gov. Matt Blunt has asked the U.S. Department of Agriculture to declare most of Missouri a disaster because of a drought.

The governor's office said Monday that the disaster declaration request covers 109 of Missouri's 114 counties -- all except Andrew, Atchison, Holt, Linn and Scott. It also excludes the city of St. Louis.

A disaster declaration could make agricultural producers eligible for low-interest loans.

The federal request is based on recent drought surveys by the Missouri Farm Service Agency.

According to the state's separate Drought Assessment Committee, 105 counties were under some level of drought advisory as of July 29. The only counties excluded from that list were Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Clay, Holt, Jackson, Nodaway, Platte and Worth.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: