Jackson tops all-conference honors

Thursday, June 9, 2005

Seven Indians players named fo first team.

Jackson was represented by seven players on the 2005 all-SEMO Conference girls soccer team.

Forward Molly Hartmann and defender Amber Tenholder were the only Jackson seniors on the first team, which also included four juniors-- goalkeeper Kylie Werner, defenders Lucy Hartmann and Leslie Gordon and midfielder Hannah Kohm -- and sophomore midfielder Randi Kraust.

Notre Dame and Central each had three players on the first team. Senior midfielder Lauren Mehner, senior defender Jesse Westrich and sophomore forward Meridith Medlin represented the Bulldogs. Senior forward Kate Miller, junior midfielder Meghan Orr and freshman defender Heather Deisher were selected from Central.

The second-team included: from Jackson, Rebecca Richbourg, Jenni Tenholder, Lauren Drewett, Erin Curtis and Shay Priester; from Central, Chelsea Burns, Laura Burdick, Jill Blattner, Lauren Thompson and Tierra Walker; and from Notre Dame, Ashley Sachse, Destiny Dirnberger and Allison Essner.

The honorable mention list included: Kaitlyn Scheeter and Kelsey Scheeter of Notre Dame, Alicia Howard of Jackson and Lindsey Jateff, Jessica Holloway, Callie Hoffman, Sarah Kinnison and Haley Pilsner of Central.

District honors

The Class 1 District 1 first team included four players from district champion Notre Dame -- Lauren Mehner, Merditih Medlin, senior defender Kelsey Scheeter and senior midfielder Allison Essner. Junior midfielder Amber Hacker, senior forward Chris Schremp and sophomore defender Jocelyn Moll represented Perryville on the first team, while freshman forward Brooke Brown, freshman midfielder Sara Moll and junior defender Theresa Mattingly were named from St. Vincent.

The following were second-team selections: from Notre Dame, Kaitlyn Scheeter, Ashley Sachse, Destiny Dirnberger and Jesse Westrich; from Perryville, Chelsey Marr, Kasey Riney and Jodie Amschler; and from St. Vincent, Jessica Welker, Stacy Brown and Michelle Herzog.

Honorable mention went to Perryville's Ashley Riney, Kendra Schilli and Katie Fulton; St. Vincent's Kelsey Cissell and Notre Dame's Laura Muir.

Earning all-region first team honors were Meridith Medlin, Lauren Mehner, Jesse Westrich and sophomore midfielder Destiny Dirnberger from Notre Dame; Amber Hacker and senior forward Chris Schremp from Perryville and Theresa Mattingly and Sara Moll from St. Vincent.

Second-selections included Kaitlyn Scheeter, Ashley Sachse and Allison Essner from Notre Dame, Chelsey Marr and Jocelyn Moll from Perryville and Jessica Welker and Brooke Brown from St. Vincent.

Notre Dame's Lauren Mehner was named the regional offensive player of the year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: