Throwers lead indoor track teams

Monday, February 17, 2003

Jay Heddell's shot put of 58 feet, 8 inches was good enough to provisionally qualify him for the NCAA Indoor Championships as Southeast Missouri State University's track and field teams competed at Saturday's USA Open in Carbondale, Ill.

Heddell, who has the Ohio Valley Conference's best shot put this season, and fellow shot putter Heather Jenkins took home Southeast's only two first-place finishes at the 20-team meet (no team scores were kept). Jenkins, a Central High School product, won with 46-6 3/4.

Andrew Lambert posted the OVC's top high jump of the year with 6-8 1/4. Lambert, a freshman from Sikeston High School, finished second.

Michelle Jett's pole vault of 10-6 was good enough for fifth at the meet, and is the top performance in the OVC this season.

Brandon Myer (shot put), Brook Woodruff (800-meters) and Meleisa Green (long jump) all finished second for Southeast.

Placing third were Jackson High School product Lindsey Meyr (long jump), Shelton Scott (triple jump) and LaQuita Andrews (400-meters).

Finishing fourth were Jenkins (20-pound weight throw), Dan Jones (shot put) and David Herman (55-meter hurdles) while fifth were Perryville High School graduate Shawn Statler (long jump), Lyndsey Stevenson (55-meter hurdles) and Natasha Fortenberry (200-meters).

Southeast will have a home quad meet Friday at the Student Recreation Center. Field events begin at 5 p.m.

Gymnasts place second

Southeast's gymnastics team scored 193.475 Sunday to finish second in a triangular meet in Kalamazoo, Mich. Host Western Michigan was first (194.325) and Ball State placed third (192.725).

Southeast's Ashley Godwin was second in the all-around, scoring 39.125. Ball State's Quiana Williams was first (39.175).

Godwin tied for second on bars (9.850) and she tied for third on the floor (9.800) and vault (9.725). Also tying for third on vault were Southeast's Katie Bloom and Deanna Ogg.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: