[SeMissourian.com] Light Rain Fog/Mist ~ 41°F  
River stage: 16.81 ft. Rising
Saturday, Dec. 27, 2014
Post reply Read replies (76) More threads Create thread

Should Education be destoyed?
Posted by Old John on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 1:28 PM:

Get the Fed gov out of it.

Replies

It would depend on what you define "education". Even when I was a student (late 70's thru the 80's into the early 90's) there remained a few teachers who believed that education was a preperation for living.

-- Posted by Simon Jester on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 3:18 PM

"Education" has destroyed itself. However, if true education is learning, those who want to learn will do so, sans the "Education Establisyhment."

-- Posted by voyager on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 3:32 PM

The kind doctor could sure use spellcheck. Just might,repeat,might make him a bit more readable.

-- Posted by dab1969 on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 4:22 PM

Old John

You mean by getting rid of student loans and pell grants. Would that mean that people that didn't come from the right parent can not be successful.

-- Posted by Some Random Guy on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 1:38 PM

A college education does not guarantee nor does it determine success.

-- Posted by FreedomFadingFast on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 7:16 PM

We must remember that intelligence is not enough. Intelligence plus character--that is the goal of true education. The complete education gives one not only power of concentration, but worthy objectives upon which to concentrate. The broad education will, therefore, transmit to one not only the accumulated knowledge of the race but also the accumulated experience of social living.

Attributed to Martin Luther King, from http://mlk-kpp01.stanford.edu/index.php/...

-- Posted by fxpwt on Sat, Nov 24, 2012, at 7:28 PM